The Maison is situated in two hôtel particuliers – classic Parisian townhouses – which, over the years have been home to courtiers, nobles, aristocracy, the occasional princess and the future emperor Napoléon III. Once known as Hôtel Baudet de Morlet and Hôtel Heuzé de Vologer, these hôtels were completed in 1714, but greatly altered over the years, including a particularly destructive “renovation” in the 1980s.
Architect Peter Marino has now returned these two buildings to their former glory: floors have been returned to their 18th-century grandeur, ceilings to their original heights (nearly five metres on the first floor), and the façade, designed by the architect of the Palace of Versailles, Jules-Hardouin Mansart, has been sensitively restored.
Throughout the Maison, Peter Marino has deftly blended the old and new, employing techniques and materials that reference French history and craftsmanship, while carefully integrating ultra-modern designs. Behind the original façade, the Maison has been designed to be opened and filled with light. The extensive use of glass, light-coloured stone, artisanal wall coverings, and beautiful parquet and stone flooring allows each floor to subtly assert its unique character, while remaining part of a coherent whole.
Discover the new flagship here